#FloodTheSystem: Regional Orientations!

It’s time to get organized!

Join the #FloodTheSystem continental orientation call: Monday, June 8, 8PM EST/5pm PST.

http://myaccount.maestroconference.com/conference/register/881V79HVGB7P2YUM

This call is a place to get an overview of the #FtS Call to Action, hear regional organizing updates and get linked up with other groups wanting to Flood the System later this fall.

You can also plug into regional work by joining #FloodTheSystem watershed gatherings at the US Social Forums or by joining a regional orientation call.

US Social Forums:

Rising Tide North America and it’s allies are organizing two Watershed Gatherings at the US Social Forums in San Jose, California and Philadelphia, Pennsylvania this June. The program schedules for the Social Forums haven’t been released yet, but at both locations, Rising Tide will host workshops for information and training, and a #FloodtheSystem Action Council. We’ll make sure to share the exact time and location of each workshop when the schedule is available. RSVP through these event pages on Facebook:

June 25-28th Philadelphia, PA:

https://www.facebook.com/events/914456505260452/

June 24-28th San Jose, CA:

https://www.facebook.com/events/982762331764527/

And register for the US Social Forums here: https://www.ussocialforum.net/registration
Regional Orientation Calls:

You can also hop on regional conference calls in the coming week to help kickstart #FloodTheSystem in your area.

Gulf South Region: Wednesday, June 3rd 8PM EST // 7PM Central:
http://myaccount.maestroconference.com/conference/register/VUFKV3B36PCTCTSW

Southwest: Thursday, June 4th 6PM MT // 5PM PT
http://myaccount.maestroconference.com/conference/register/6X6P3ST6T5IX51S

Pacific Northwest: Wednesday, June 3rd 6PM PST
http://myaccount.maestroconference.com/conference/register/K14S6G2ZFZ9FNF8

Northeast Region: Wednesday, June 10th 8PM EST: http://myaccount.maestroconference.com/conference/register/BHFOL19MNJQ5QI9

What we’re working on:

#FloodTheSystem organizers are working with local groups to plan escalating actions this Fall. We will help individuals join existing groups or form new ones.

Together we can stream your actions, along with others across the continent, into a flood that will rise in the fall and crest around the UN climate negotiations in Paris. Let’s shift the focus away from the UN’s false corporate solutions to the climate crisis and toward community-based alternatives. Alternatives that address the systemic origins of the crisis: white supremacy, colonialism, patriarchy and capitalism.

We can only make this happen if we get organized.

Over the summer, “anchor” groups in different, regions or relating to different issues (like a focus on pipelines or oil trains all doing an action at the same time), will develop and provide a place to connect and collaborate. These anchor groups are committing to planning Flood the System actions through local action councils and facilitating the process for different groups to work together and plan big, amazing things.